

#### EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES May 18, 2023

### **INVITEES/ATTENDEES**

Voting Members- Chairs		Voting Members- Other	Non-Voting Members-	
Allison, Jeroan, MD	McManus, David, MD	Abramo, Kristin	Ahn, Mary, MD	Hayes, John
Baldor, Robert, MD	Moore Simas, Tiffany, MD, MPH	Colwell, Lauren	Artenstein, Andrew, MD	Hinchey, Kevin, MD
Barrett, AM, MD	Rathlev, Niels, MD	Fain, James	Berryman, Jennifer	Kedian, Tracy, MD
Boney, Charlotte, MD	Rhein, Lawrence, MD, MPH	Flotte, Terence, MD	Chakrabarti, Parth, MD, MBA	Larkin, Anne, MD
Budnik, Vivian, PhD	Rock, Kenneth, MD	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD	Collins, Michael F., MD	Lindstedt, John, CPA
Davis, Roger, PhD	Rosen, Max, MD	Mandrekar, Pranoti, PhD	Colombo, Lisa, DNP, MHA, RN	Luzuriaga, Katherine, MD
Feldmann, Edward, MD	Sankey, Heather, MD	McMaster, Erin, MD	DeMarco, Deborah, MD	Mattocks, Kristin, PhD, MPH
FitzGerald, TJ, MD	Sarvet, Barry, MD	Munro, James, PhD	Dickson, Eric, MD, MHCM	Menard, Alexander, MS, ANP-C
Haessler, Sarah, MD, MS	Seddon, Johanna, MD, ScM	Sadasivam, Rajani, PhD	Duncan, Marlina, EdD	Rosal, Milagros, PhD
Harris, John, MD, PhD	Schiffer, Celia, PhD	Vitello, Joan, RN, PhD	Emerson, Charles, PhD	Schaal, Shlomit, MD
Hicks, Richard, MD	Sokoloff, Mitchell, MD		Fino, Mireli, MBA	Schiffer, Celia, PhD
Jabbour, Nicolas, MD	Stauff, Michael, MD		Fischer, Melissa, MD, Med	Sell, Peter, MD
Jacobson, Allan, PhD	Vieira, Peter, MD		Frazier, Jean, MD	Weaver, David, PhD
Johnson, Mark, MD, PhD	Volturo, Gregory, MD		Friedmann, Peter, MD	Weng, Zhiping, PhD
Kelliher, Michelle, PhD	Walhout, Marian, PhD		Gao, Guangping, PhD	Wolf, Gregory
Khan, Ashraf, MD	Walz, Matthias, MD		Gottlieb, Amy, MD	
Kim, Daniel, MD	Yonkers, Kimberly, MD		Harlan, David, MD	
Litwin, Demetrius, MD	Zamore, Phillip, PhD			
McKee, Diane, MD, MS				

Dr. Rock called the meeting to order.

#### STANDING REPORTS

#### **Chancellor Update**

Dr. Collins announced that the 50<sup>th</sup> Commencement will be held on June 4<sup>th</sup>. Katie Couric, award-winning journalist and trailblazing advocate and fundraiser for cancer research, screening and care, will deliver the Commencement address. Katie Couric, Tania Semaan, leader of a global investment firm as well as co-founder and director of the Semaan Foundation, and Luke O'Neill, Chair and Professor of Biochemistry and Immunology at Trinity College Dublin, will be receiving honorary degrees.

Dr. Collins congratulated Drs. Kate Fitzgerald and Phil Zamore on being elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Zamore also was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. UMass Chan has 9 members now the National Academy Sciences.

Dr. Collins announced that U.S. News and World Report, in its graduate school rankings, ranked UMass Chanfirst in New England for primary care education.

Dr. Collins announced that the end-of-the-year Educational recognition ceremony was well received. Dr. Melissa Fischer presented the last lecture and Dr. Mark Johnson received the 2023 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Mentoring.

Dr. Collins announced that the UMass President and the 5 Chancellor's met last week in Washington with the Massachusetts Congressional delegation and they had a chance to talk about the great things that are going on across the university. Then they had lunch with Congresswomen Lori Trahan and Katherine Clark and Congressman Neal.

Dr. Collins announced that the leadership of Lahey Hospital and Medical Center, the partner for the new UMass Chan – Lahey Regional Campus, will be making a campus visit on May 22<sup>nd</sup>.

Dr. Collins also announced that on the morning of May 22<sup>nd</sup> Secretary of Economic Development for the Commonwealth, Yvonne Hao, will be visiting the UMass Chan campus.

## **BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES**

Having determined a quorum was met, the March minutes were approved.



# PRESENTATIONS

*Nominations Committee Recommendations: Dr. Ahn* Dr. Ahn presented the recommendations from the Nominations Committee. Motion to endorse; motion approved.

*Officer Elections: Dr. Rock* Dr. Rock presented the ballot for the Officer Election. Motion to approve ballot; motion approved. The new Executive Council Officers for the upcoming academic year are:

Chair- David McManus, MD Vice Chair- M. Diane McKee, MD, MS Rules Committee member- Marian Walhout, PhD

*MassBiologics Updates: Mireli Fino* Mireli Fino gave an update on MassBiologics.

ADJOURNMENT Dr. Rock called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.