

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 15, 2022

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Voting Members- Chairs		Voting Members- Other	Non-Voting Members-	
Allison, Jeroan, MD	Moore Simas, Tiffany, MD, MPH	Abramo, Kristin	Ahn, Mary, MD	Harlan, David, MD
Baldor, Robert, MD	Rathlev, Niels, MD	Colwell, Lauren	Artenstein, Andrew, MD	Hayes, John
Boney, Charlotte, MD	Rhein, Lawrence, MD, MPH	Fain, James	Berryman, Jennifer	Hinchey, Kevin, MD
Budnik, Vivian, PhD	Rock, Kenneth, MD	Flotte, Terence, MD	Chakrabarti, Parth, MD, MBA	Larkin, Anne, MD
Davis, Roger, PhD	Rosen, Max, MD	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD	Collins, Michael F., MD	Lindstedt, John, CPA
Feldmann, Edward, MD	Sankey, Heather, MD	Mandrekar, Pranoti, PhD	Colombo, Lisa, DNP, MHA, RN	Luzuriaga, Katherine, MD
FitzGerald, TJ, MD	Sarvet, Barry, MD	McMaster, Erin, MD	Das, Manas, MD	Mattocks, Kristin, PhD, MPH
Green, Michael, PhD	Schaal, Shlomit, MD	Munro, James, PhD	DeMarco, Deborah, MD	Pryciak, Peter, PhD
Haessler, Sarah, MD, MS	Schiffer, Celia, PhD	Sadasivam, Rajani, PhD	Dickson, Eric, MD, MHCM	Peterson, Kenneth, PhD, MS, RN
Harris, John, MD, PhD	Silver, Brian, MD	Vitello, Joan, RN, PhD	Duncan, Marlina, EdD	Rosal, Milagros, PhD
Hicks, Richard, MD	Sokoloff, Mitchell, MD		Emerson, Charles, PhD	Schanzer, Andres, MD
Jabbour, Nicolas, MD	Stauf, Michael, MD		Fino, Mireli, MBA	Sell, Peter, MD
Jacobson, Allan, PhD	Vieira, Peter, MD		Fischer, Melissa, MD, Med	Weaver, David, PhD
Johnson, Mark, MD, PhD	Volturo, Gregory, MD		Frazier, Jean, MD	Weng, Zhiping, PhD
Khan, Ashraf, MD	Walhout, Marian, PhD		Friedmann, Peter, MD	Wolf, Gregory
Kim, Daniel, MD	Walz, Matthias, MD		Gao, Guangping, PhD	
Litwin, Demetrius, MD	Yonkers, Kimberly, MD		Gottlieb, Amy, MD	
McKee, Diane, MD, MS	Zamore, Phillip, PhD		Green, Michael, MD, PhD	
McManus, David, MD				

Dr. Rock called the meeting to order.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the May minutes were approved.

STANDING REPORTS

Chancellor Update

Dr. Collins announced that the Convocation & Investiture Ceremony was being held September 15th and hopes that people can attend. Four Chancellor Medals will be given out. Six faculty will be invested as endowed chairs.

The NERB is progressing well. It's going faster than expected. Hope to be weather tight by early December.

The search for the new Associate Vice Chancellor for Facilities Management is going well. There are some very excellent candidates being considered.

The UMass Board Meeting will be held next week.

The next Virtual Townhall will be held September 20th. The agenda is full with lots of things to talk about.

Provost Update

Dr. Flotte thanked Chancellor Collins for establishing the traditions we have for convocation week. During the course of the week we have the opportunity to celebrate the students for each of the three schools. In each of the schools we have more students than ever, and they are of very high caliber. Dr. Flotte credited his fellow Deans for providing opportunities for so many capable students. We are looking forward to the growth to continue.

Dr. Flotte announced the partnership and development with Lahey Medical Center. Dr. Flotte credited the successful partnership with Baystate Health as the biggest selling point for Lahey to partner with UMass Chan.

Dr. Flotte announced that there are some ongoing leadership searches ongoing such as: the Chair of Neurobiology, Director for the Health Equity Collaborative, among others.



Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Update

Dr. Ahn announced that a New Faculty Orientation was held via zoom on September 14th. There will be a New Faculty Reception on Wednesday, September 21st at 5:00pm. Dr. Ahn asked that new faculty are encouraged to attend both the upcoming New Faculty Orientations and receptions.

Dr. Ahn announced that Peers for Promotion 2.0 will resume via zoom. Dr. Emily Green, the Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Development, has reinvigorated the program that will be a cohort program to support, motivate and prepare faculty for the promotions process.

PRESENTATIONS

Non-Voting Membership: Dr. Rock

Dr. Rock presented the annual list of non-voting membership to be approved by the Executive Council. Motion to approve; motion approved.

EPC Bylaws Revision: Dr. McMaster

Dr. McMaster presented the proposed revisions to the EPC Bylaws. Motion to approve recommendations; approved

Educational Affairs Update: Dr. Larkin

Dr. Larkin presented an Educational Affairs Update.

IT Update on Privacy Training & High-Performance Computing: Greg Wolf

Greg Wolf gave a presentation on Privacy Training & High-Performance Computing.

ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Rock called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.