

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES May 16 2024

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Voting Members- Chairs		Voting Members- Other	Non-Voting Members-	
Allison, Jeroan, MD		Flotte, Terence, MD	Acosta, Alan, PhD	Kedian, Tracy, MD
Aquino, Patrick, MD	Moore Simas, Tiffany, MD, MPH	Grunwald, David	Ahn, Mary, MD	Larkin, Anne, MD
Baldor, Robert, MD	Rathlev, Niels, MD	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD	Artenstein, Andrew, MD	Lewis, Brian, PhD
Barrett, AM, MD	Rhein, Lawrence, MD, MPH	McMaster, Erin, MD	Berryman, Jennifer	Lindstedt, John, CPA
Boney, Charlotte, MD	Rock, Kenneth, MD	Plasse, Mechelle, PhD	Boudreaux, Edwin, PhD	Luzuriaga, Katherine, MD
Brown, Calvin, MD	Rosen, Max, MD	Sadasivam, Rajani, PhD	Brownawell, Carolyn, MBA	Mattocks, Kristin, PhD, MPH
Davis, Roger, PhD	Sankey, Heather, MD	Toye, Amelia, BS, RN	Chakrabarti, Parth, MD, MBA	Menard, Alexander, MS, ANP-C
Feldmann, Edward, MD	Sarvet, Barry, MD	Walker, Amy, PhD	Collins, Michael F., MD	Moffatt- Bruce, Susan, MD, PhD
FitzGerald, TJ, MD	Seddon, Johanna, MD, ScM	Vitello, Joan, RN, PhD	Colombo, Lisa, DNP, MHA, RN	Mosenthal, Anne, MD, FACS
Haessler, Sarah, MD, MS	Schiffer, Celia, PhD		Dickson, Eric, MD, MHCM	Munson, Mary, PhD
Harris, John, MD, PhD	Sokoloff, Mitchell, MD		Duncan, Marlina, EdD	Potts, Stacy
Heim, Kurt, MD	Stain, Steven, MD		Emerson, Charles, PhD	Precourt, Justin
Hicks, Richard, MD	Stauff, Michael, MD		Erwin, John, MBA	Rosal, Milagros, PhD
Jabbour, Nicolas, MD	Vieira, Peter, MD		Fino, Mireli, MBA	Sell, Peter, MD
Johnson, Mark, MD, PhD	Volturo, Gregory, MD		Fischer, Melissa, MD, Med	Sena Esteves, Miguel, PhD
Kaufman, Michael, MD	Walhout, Marian, PhD		Fitzgerald, Kate, PhD	Thompson, Paul, PhD
Keitz, Sheri, MD	Wald, Christoph, MD		Frazier, Jean, MD	Trivedi, Chinmay, MD, PhD
Kelliher, Michelle, PhD	Walz, Matthias, MD		Friedmann, Peter, MD	Weaver, David, PhD
Khan, Ashraf, MD	Weng, Zhiping, PhD		Gao, Guangping, PhD	Wolf, Gregory
Kim, Daniel, MD	Winder, Danny PhD		Garcia, Maria, MD	
Litwin, Demetrius, MD	Yonkers, Kimberly, MD		Gerber, Jonathan, MD	
McKee, Diane, MD, MS	Zamore, Phillip, PhD		Hayes, John	
McCormick, Beth, PhD			Hinchey, Kevin, MD	
McManus, David, MD				

Dr. McManus called the meeting to order.

STANDING REPORTS

Provost Updates

Dr. Flotte stated they expect to select an Ophthalmology chair within the next month. Dr. Flott stated they are in the final stages of selecting the Molecular cell and cancer biology chair. Dr. Flotte announced that the UMass Chan Regional Lahey Campus officially opened with a ribbon cutting on April 30. Dr. Flotte reminded everyone that commencement will be held on Sunday, June 2 and the ribbon cutting for the new education and research building will be Friday, June 7. Dr. Flotte congratulated Dr. Celia Schiffer for being the latest elected member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Updates

Dr. Ahn stated that Provost Terry Flotte has pledged salary equity for all school employed faculty at the first year out of training. Dr .Ahn stated that the Junior Faculty Development Program will hold their graduation later that evening and that applications are open for the AY24-25 academic year. Dr. Ahn stated that the Women's Faculty Committee will hold their annual awards luncheon on Thursday, May 23.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE:

Meeting Minutes

Having determined a quorum was met, the January minutes were approved.

PRESENTATIONS

Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Updates and Bylaw Revision: Dr. Lane

Dr. Lane stated that the tuition cost for a new graduate student will be about \$52,000 a year and the cost of a continuing graduate student will be just under \$50,000 a year and the stipend is increasing 5.8% from \$38,000 to \$40,200. presented the proposed programs of study for the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

Dr. Lane reviewed the amendments to the Graduate School of Biomedical Science Bylaws.

Officer Elections: Dr. McManus

Dr. McManus stated that a new chair, vice chair and additional rules committee member needed to be voted on. The current slate for chair is M. Diane McKee and Vice Chair Marion Walhout. No additional committee members were nominated so Dr. McManus asked if anyone in the room or

on zoom were willing to serve. Max Rosen self-nominated to be the additional rules committee member. Dr. McManus held a vote for all three positions, and all were approved.

Lahey Regional Campus Update: Dr. Mosenthal

Dr. Mosenthal stated they are just 88 days away from welcoming their first class; they currently have 62 accepted students, 16 committed to enroll, 18 are planning to enroll and the expect to have a class size of 25. Dr. Mosenthal stated that in March Dr. Wendy Barr was appointed Dean of Education and Curriculum and two co-directors of their early clinical learning were appointed, Dr Zoe Rosenbaum and Dr. Shwetha Sequeira. Dr. John Haizer was appointed Director of the Pathway Curriculum, Lauren Knowles was appointed Director of Interprofessional Education and Maria de Oliveira is the Executive Director.

Post-Doc Salary Update: Dr. Flotte

Dr. Flotte stated that in April the NIH announced that there would be an 8% increase for post docs funded under federal grants and in an effort to stay competitive UMass Chan will match that 8% increase, retroactive to April 7.

Meeting adjourned.

ADJOURNMENT

Dr. McManus called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.