

Faculty Council Richard Pavao, MD, Chair M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 3, 2020

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-			Non-Voting Members-	
	Abramo, Kristin	Faustina, Misha	Moore, Phoebe	Berryman, Jennifer	Lane, Mary Ellen
Pavao, Richard (Chair)	Aronowitz, Jesse	Francis, Michael	Peterson, Craig	Collins, Michael	Lanzillotti, Patricia
Sadasivam, Rajani (Vice Chair)	Blehar, David	Freedman, Jason	Reboldi, Andrea	Dickson, Eric	Larkin, Anne
Ahn, Mary (Secretary)	Bolon, Daniel	Garwood, Elizabeth	Slosar-Cheah, Magdalena	Fain, James	Linstedt, John
Bamberger, Mitchell	Botkin, Naomi	Hamar, Benjamin	Song, Jie	Florence, Roxanne	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Carlisle, Ann e	Ionete, Carolina	Trivedi, Meghna	Flotte, Terence	Maki, Kristen
	Cataltepe, Oguz	Irazoqui, Javier	Walker, Amy	Glasheen, Jim	Mandrekar, Pranoti
	Chin, Emily	Kamil, Syed	Wessolosky, Mireya	Gottlieb, Amy	McMaster, Erin
	Chu, Sherman	Korostelev, Andrei	Wolfe, Scot	Gustafson, Michael	Piorun, Mary
	Dick, Karen	Long-Bellil, Linda	Wylie, Falgun	Harnois, Deborah	Popkin, Joel
	Fain, James	Michas, Maria		Hayes, John	Vitello, Joan

Dr. Pavao called the meeting to order

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the June minutes were approved.

STANDING REPORTS

Dean/Provost Update

Dr. Flotte thanked Dr. Sharone Green for a terrific job with infection control issues on campus over the summer, which has maintained low rates of positive COVID results among the population. There has been less than 1/1000 rate of positive results. Dr. Flotte reminded everyone that the surveillance testing is only for asymptomatic people. The UMMS Testing Dashboard can be viewed <u>here</u>.

Dr. Flotte announced that there will be an announcement next week about the flu vaccine. There will be multiple dates available for school employees to get the flu vaccine.

Dr. Flotte announced Dr. Kristin Mattocks has been appointed as the Associate Dean of Veteran's Affairs. Congratulations to Dr. Mattocks!

Dr. Flotte announced that the remaining searches for the department chairs have slowed down to COVID, but they are ongoing and are moving forward.

ANNOUNCEMENT

New Members: Dr. Pavao

Dr. Pavao welcomed the new members of the Faculty Council. The new members are:

- Daniel Bolon, PhD- Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology Sherman Chu, MD- Pediatrics
- Elizabeth Garwood, MD- Radiology
- Benjamin Hamar, MD- Obstetrics & Gynecology

UMMS Style Guide: Dan Lambert

Dan Lambert gave a presentation on the new UMMS Style Guide. Presentation here

OLD BUSINESS

Non-Voting Membership: Dr. Pavao

Dr. Pavao reviewed the list of non-voting members. Motion to approve non-voting members; motion approved. Presentation here

LCME Survey Team Exit Report: Dr. Larkin

Dr. Larkin gave an presentation on the LCME Survey Team Exit Report. Presentation here

ADJOURNMENT: Dr. Pavao called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.