

Faculty Council Richard Pavao, MD, Chair <u>M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org</u>

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES February 3, 2022

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Pavao, Richard (Chair)	Aronowitz, Jesse	Learnard, H/Agnello, Emily	Abbott, Mary	Lanzillotti, Patricia
Sadasivam, Rajani (Vice Chair)	Barsamian, Nancy	Lin, Haijiang	Ahn, Mary	Larkin, Anne
Munro, James	Blehar, David	Mitchell,Amir	Berryman, Jennifer	Linstedt, John
Walker, Amy	Bolon, Daniel	Moore, Phoebe	Chakrabarti, Parth	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Burnett, C/Suh, L	Peterson, Kenneth	Collins, Michael	Maki, Kristen
	Chu, Sherman	Plasse, Mechelle	DeMarco, Deborah	Mandrekar, Pranoti
	Curtin, Carol	Pryciak, Peter	Dickson, Eric	Mattocks, Kristin
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Reboldi, Andrea	Duncan, Marlina	McMaster, Erin
	Francis, Michael	Sharif, Rifat	Fain, James	Piorun, Mary
	Garwood, Elizabeth	Slosar-Cheah, Magdalena	Florence, Roxanne	Rosal, Milagros
	Hamar, Benjamin	Song, Jie	Flotte, Terence	Vitello, Joan
	Hamzei-Sichani, Farid	Trivedi, Meghna	Gottlieb, Amy	
	Kakouros, Nikolaos	Wessolosky, Mireya	Gustafson, Michael	
	Kamil, Syed	Wolfe, Scot	Hayes, John	
	Korostelev, Andrei	Wylie, Falgun	Lane, Mary Ellen	

Dr. Pavao called the meeting to order.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from January were approved.

STANDING REPORTS

Chancellor Update

Dr. Collins announced that a communication was sent out regarding the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative inviting Letters of Intent to establish a second CZ Biohub. The Biohub would establish a partnership of Boston University, Harvard University, MIT and UMass Chan Medical School, along with our affiliated hospitals and institutes. Dr. Collins asked Drs. Flotte, Luzuriaga & Fitzgerald to be the three representatives on the committee that will look at the proposals that will come from each of the institutions. The deadline for the ideas for focus areas is Wednesday, February 9th.

Dr. Collins announced the next major gift of \$15 million to advance ALS, neuroscience research from UMass alumni Dan & Diane M. Casey Riccio, PhD. The gift includes \$10 million for what will be named the Riccio ALS Accelerator Initiative and \$5 million to expand and endow the Riccio Fund for Neuroscience, providing seed money for research collaborations.

Dr. Collins reminded everyone of the next Town Hall scheduled for February 8th. The Town Hall will include an update on the IMPACT 2025 Strategic Plan: progress to date; and some refinements tmoving forward. During the town hall, we will be hearing from Vice Chancellor Duncan on how to better integrate diversity and equity and inclusion into the long-term strategic thinking; from Vice Provost Rosal about faculty recruitment efforts, particularly in the area of recruiting faculty under-represented in medicine; from Vice Chancellor John Erwin on our volunteer policy initiative; and from Dean Flotte on the latest thinking of some infection control and the future of our COVID strategy.

Dr. Collins announced that on February 9th DIO will host a special virtual session focused on the Diversity Campus Read book *Medical Apartheid*. The book's author, Harriet Washington, will be speaking to the community.

Dr. Collins announced that Dr. Mary Munson was named the recipient of the 2022 Chancellor's Award for Advancing Institutional Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion at the 34th annual Martin Luther King Jr. tribute at UMass Chan Medical School on Jan. 24. The field of nominees this year was very impressive.

UMass Chan MEDICAL SCHOOL

Faculty Council Richard Pavao, MD, Chair M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

Dr. Collins announced that next week the Commencement slate will be announced next week.

Dean & Provost Update

Dr. Flotte announced Dr. Vivian Budnik will be stepping down as the Chair of Neurobiology. The search for the new chair has been instituted. Drs. Kate Fitzgerald and Daryl Bosco are leading the search committee. Dr. Budnick has done a wonderful job as chair and is a superb faculty mentor.

Dr. Flotte announced that Dr. Budnick helped to set-up the Riccio fund internal pilot grant which was converted from non-endowed current-use fund to being endowed in perpetuity. She worked with Diane Riccio to set up an internal pilot grant program that is designed to foster new collaborations in the neurosciences, especially between basic scientists and disease-oriented researchers. This is also a tribute to Dr. Brown who continues to do amazing things for patients with ALS.

EPC Committee Update

Dr. McMaster presented the EPC update. Presentation here.

Meeting adjourned.