

Richard Pavao, MD, Chair M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

### FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES May 5, 2022

### INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Pavao, Richard (Chair)	Aronowitz, Jesse		Abbott, Mary	Lane, Mary Ellen
Sadasivam, Rajani (Vice Chair)	Barsamian, Nancy	Moore, Phoebe	Ahn, Mary	Lanzillotti, Patricia
Munro, James	Blehar, David	Munro, James	Berryman, Jennifer	Larkin, Anne
Walker, Amy	Bolon, Daniel	Parida, K/Shuamte, L	Chakrabarti, Parth	Linstedt, John
	Chu, Sherman	Peterson, Kenneth	Collins, Michael	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Curtin, Carol	Plasse, Mechelle	DeMarco, Deborah	Maki, Kristen
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Pryciak, Peter	Dickson, Eric	Mandrekar, Pranoti
	Francis, Michael	Reboldi, Andrea	Duncan, Marlina	Mattocks, Kristin
	Garwood, Elizabeth	Richmond, Jillian	Fain, James	McMaster, Erin
	Hamar, Benjamin	Sharif, Rifat	Florence, Roxanne	Piorun, Mary
	Hamzei-Sichani, Farid	Slosar-Cheah, Magdalena	Flotte, Terence	Popkin,Joel
	Kakouros, Nikolaos	Song, Jie	Giannaris, Lela	Rosal, Milagros
	Kamil, Syed	Trivedi, Meghna	Gottlieb, Amy	Vitello, Joan
	Korostelev, Andrei	Wessolosky, Mireya	Gustafson, Michael	
	Learnard, H/Agnello, E	Wolfe, Scot	Hayes, John	
	Lin, Haijiang	Wylie, Falgun		
	Mitchell,Amir			

Dr. Pavao called the meeting to order.

# **BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES**

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from April were approved.

#### STANDING REPORTS

#### **Chancellor** Updates

Last week, we celebrated the accomplishments of our faculty at the Educational Recognition Awards event. It was an in-person event. I had the pleasure of awarding Vivian Budnik, PhD with the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Mentoring. Dr. P-Y Fan delivered the Last Lecture as this year's recipient of the Chancellor's Medal for Distinguished Teaching.

## We have established 5 Manning Chairs:

- Robert H. Brown Jr., DPhil, MD, professor of neurology and director of the Neurotherapeutics Institute, for the *Donna M. and Robert J. Manning Chair in Neurosciences*;
- Mary Ellen Lane, PhD, professor of neurobiology and dean of the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, for the Donna M. and Robert J. Manning Chair in Biomedical Sciences.
- Tiffany A. Moore Simas, MD, MPH, chair and professor of obstetrics & gynecology and professor of pediatrics, psychiatry, and population & quantitative health sciences, for the *Donna M. and Robert J. Manning Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology*.
- Michael P. Stauff, MD, associate professor orthopedics & physical rehabilitation and vice chair for clinical practice in the Department of Orthopedics & Physical Rehabilitation, for the Donna M. and Robert J. Manning Chair in Orthopedics; and
- Joan M. Vitello, PhD, professor of nursing and dean of the Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing, for the Donna M. and Robert J. Manning Chair in Nursing.

#### I am pleased that the UMass Board has also acted on our recommendations for:

• Roberto Caricchio, MD, who will join the UMass Chan faculty on June 30 as professor of medicine and chief of the Division of Rheumatology in the Department of Medicine as the *Myles J. McDonough Chair in Rheumatology*. Dr. Caricchio is a nationally recognized expert on lupus. While a core member of the COVID-19 response team at Temple University Hospital, he led the development of a new therapeutic approach to treating patients with COVID-19-induced cytokine storm. He is expert in the

# UMass Chan MEDICAL SCHOOL

Richard Pavao, MD, Chair M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

hyperinflammatory response that occurs during COVID-19 pneumonia in the general population and the risk of COVID-19 infection and flares upon vaccination of lupus patients.

- Celia A. Schiffer, PhD, chair and professor of biochemistry & molecular biotechnology, as the new *Arthur F. and Helen P. Koskinas Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biotechnology.* Dr. Schiffer studies the molecular basis for drug resistance in viruses. Through her research, she has developed a new paradigm for avoiding drug resistance in structure-based drug design that has potential for a number of diseases. Schiffer's accomplishments in research and education have been widely honored. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology; in 2020 she was recognized with the William C. Rose Award from the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; and in 2016 she received the inaugural Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Mentoring.
- Michelle A. Kelliher, PhD, professor of molecular, cell & cancer biology and co-leader of the Cancer Genetics Program, as the inaugural recipient of the *Our Danny Cancer Fund Chair in Biomedical Research*. The endowed chair was formally established by the UMass Board of Trustees last fall to support the work of a stellar faculty member whose research programs help advance understanding of cancer biology or facilitate novel cancer therapeutics.

Dr. Kelliher studies oncogene-mediated leukemic transformation and drug resistance in pediatric T-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia. The exceptional quality of her bench work and scientific discoveries has garnered her external recognition from leading organizations, such as the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

These new endowed chairs result in a total of 61 named professors and chairs at UMass Chan; each one represents deep and abiding confidence in our ability to change the course of the history of medicine through scientific inquiry.

We are working on 3 more endowed chairs which will be up for consideration by the Board of Trustees in June.

Congratulations to UMass Chan Medical School scientist Job Dekker, PhD, who was elected to the National Academy of Sciences on May 3 for his contributions to the field of genomics. The Dekker lab studies how a genome is organized in three dimensions inside the nucleus.

Congratulations to Shlomit Schaal, MD, PhD, MHCA, and Mattie Castiel, MD, for being selected for the Worcester Business Journal's 2022 Power 50. These are the 50 most influential people in the Central Massachusetts business community for the past 12 months.

Jacquie Moloney is stepping down as Chancellor of UMass Lowell due to her retirement. The Board of Trustees will be announcing their choice for the new Chancellor very soon.

## **Provost and Dean's Updates**

The Remillard Family Community Service Fund proposals are due Friday, May 13, 2022. If you have an idea for a community service project, send those proposals to Kristen Maki.

Chair and Director Search – Dr. A.M. Barrett is a finalist for the Chair of Neurology. She is researcher in neuro rehabilitation and stroke care. She also has major VA funding and has been engaging in the program in digital medicine. We are in the finalist stage for this search and hope that it closes soon.

The Neurobiology Chair search is in the early stages. The Chair search for the Program in Human Genetics search has been rebooted.

## TH Chan School of Medicine Bylaws Revision

Dr. Ahn - 10-minute presentation. Presentation here.

- Faculty Assembly vote; approved
- Faculty Council endorsement; approved



Richard Pavao, MD, Chair <u>M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org</u>

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

Committee on Equal Opportunity & Diversity Updates

Dr. Peterson gave a brief presentation. Presentation here.

**Accommodation Services** 

Katrina Durham gave a brief presentation. Presentation here.

Meeting adjourned.