

Richard Pavao, MD, Chair M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES June 2, 2022

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Pavao, Richard (Chair)	Aronowitz, Jesse	Mitchell,Amir	Abbott, Mary	Lane, Mary Ellen
Sadasivam, Rajani (Vice Chair)	Barsamian, Nancy	Moore, Phoebe	Ahn, Mary	Lanzillotti, Patricia
Munro, James	Blehar, David	Parida, K/Shuamte, L	Berryman, Jennifer	Larkin, Anne
Walker, Amy	Bolon, Daniel	Peterson, Kenneth	Chakrabarti, Parth	Linstedt, John
	Chu, Sherman	Plasse, Mechelle	Collins, Michael	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Curtin, Carol	Pryciak, Peter	DeMarco, Deborah	Maki, Kristen
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Reboldi, Andrea	Dickson, Eric	Mandrekar, Pranoti
	Francis, Michael	Richmond, Jillian	Duncan, Marlina	Mattocks, Kristin
	Garwood, Elizabeth	Sharif, Rifat	Fain, James	McMaster, Erin
	Hamar, Benjamin	Slosar-Cheah, Magdalena	Florence, Roxanne	Piorun, Mary
	Hamzei-Sichani, Farid	Song, Jie	Flotte, Terence	Rosal, Milagros
	Kakouros, Nikolaos	Trivedi, Meghna	Giannaris, Lela	Vitello, Joan
	Kamil, Syed	Wessolosky, Mireya	Gottlieb, Amy	
	Korostelev, Andrei	Wolfe, Scot	Gustafson, Michael	
	Learnard, H/Agnello, E	Wylie, Falgun	Hayes, John	
	Lin, Haijiang			

Dr. Pavao called the meeting to order.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from May were approved.

STANDING REPORTS

Chancellor Updates

Dr. Collins announced that the UMass Lowell Chancellor, Jacquie Moloney, is retiring this month after nearly four decades of service to the campus. She took part in her last Board of Trustees meeting as Chancellor today and received a tremendous outpouring of support.

Dr. Collins announced that the UMass Board met for a special meeting, where it was announced Julie Chen, Ph.D., currently Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation at Lowell, would be succeeding Chancellor Moloney.

Dr. Collins announced that Chancellor Subbaswamy announced his intention to step down following a national search for a new chancellor of the Amherst campus. Dr. Subbaswamy has ably led the flagship campus for the past decade.

Dr. Collins announced the Board of Trustees approved the appointments to endowed chairs of the following three faculty members:

- Eric H. Baehrecke, PhD, Professor of Molecular, Cell and Cancer Biology, for appointment to the *Our Danny Cancer Fund Chair in Biomedical Research*
- Alan Mullen, MD, PhD, incoming Professor of Medicine and Academic Chief of Gastroenterology, for appointment to the *Mary C. DeFeudis Chair in Biomedical Research*.
- Jeanne B. Lawrence, MS, PhD, Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics, for appointment to the *Leo P. and Theresa M. LaChance Chair in Medical Research*.

We now have 62 endowed chairs in total, 59 being occupied, 20 of which are women faculty. While we need to continue to do better, I am heartened to see the dramatic increase in women faculty being appointed to endowed chairs over the course of the last decade.

UMass Chan MEDICAL SCHOOL

Richard Pavao, MD, Chair M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

Last week, the Office of Faculty Affairs and the Women's Faculty Committee of the Diversity and Inclusion Office hosted the 22nd annual Women's Faculty Award. Dr. Collins appreciated the opportunity to reflect on the accomplishments of our women faculty and appreciate their contributions to our institution. Dr. Collins congratulated the awardees:

- Dr. Payal Modi, MD, MPH, winner of the Christine Cassel MD'76 Faculty Scholar Award
- Dr. Anna Luisa Kuhn, MD, PhD, winner of the Early Career Achievement in Science and Health Award
- Beth Keating, MS, APRN-BC, winner of the Excellence in Clinical Service Award
- Dr. Vivian Budnik, PhD, winner of the Outstanding Mentoring to Women Faculty Award
- Dr. Eustathia Giannaris, PhD, winner of the Sarah Stone Excellence in Education Award
- Dr. Ann Marshak-Rothstein, PhD, winner of the Women in Science and Health Achievements Award; and
- Dr. Melanie Gnazzo, ND, winner of the Outstanding Community Service Award

Dr. Collins announced that the UMass Chan Medical School 49th Commencement will be held on June 5th. Commencement will be held on the campus green. Thank you to the many faculty and staff who have invested time and effort into planning the events this week.

Dr. Cori Bargmann, PhD, head of science at the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, head of the Lulu and Anthony Wang Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior, and the *Torsten N. Wiesel Professor* at the Rockefeller University, will be delivering the commencement address and receiving an honorary degree.

Honorary degrees will also be awarded to:

- Dr. Paula. A. Johnson, President of Wellesley College and a preeminent cardiologist, epidemiologist, advocate and leader.
- And Dr. James O'Connell, president of the Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program, where his dedication to serving Boston's most in-need patients has earned him the title of Boston's "street doctor."

Thank you to the many faculty and staff who have invested time and effort into planning the events this week.

Provost and Dean's Updates

Dr. Flotte announced some commencement activities.

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Updates

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation for her updates. Presentation here.

Conflict of Interest Board of Trustees Policy

Dr. Flotte and representatives from the Office of General Counsel gave a presentation on the revision of the Board of Trustees Conflict of Interest Policies.

Motion to endorse the ongoing process; motion approved.

Admissions Committee Updates

Dr. Larkin gave a presentation on the Admissions Committee. Presentation here.

Women's Facluty Committee Updates



Richard Pavao, MD, Chair <u>M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org</u>

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

Dr. Gerstein gave a presentation on the Women's Faculty Committee. Presentation here.

Meeting adjourned.