

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

Amy Walker, PhD, Vice Chair Amy.Walker@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

### FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES June 6, 2024

# INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Sadasivam, Rajani (Chair)	Abdennur, Nezar	Hamzei—Sichani, Farid	Abraham, George	Kedian, Tracy
Walker, Amy (Co-Chair)	Almeida, Sandra	Kakouros, Nikolaos	Acosta, Alan	Lane, Mary Ellen
Feeney, Susan (secretary)	Alvarez, Lulu/Osa-Agbontean, E.	Kamil, Syed	Ahn, Mary	Lanzillotti, Patricia
	Aronowitz, Jesse	Korostelev, Andrei	Alexander, Jacob	Larkin, Anne
	Barsamian, Nancy	Li, Shaoguang	Berryman, Jennifer	Lewis, Brian
	Benanti, Jennifer	Matheos, Theofilos	Catanzano, Tara	Linstedt, John
	Binder, Zach	Menard, Alexander	Chakrabarti, Parth	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Blehar, David	Mitchell,Amir	Collins, Michael	Maki, Kristen
	Bolon, Daniel	Moore, Phoebe	Dickson, Eric	Mattocks, Kristin
	Bucci, Vanni	Moorman, Anne	Duncan, Marlina	McMaster, Erin
	Chu, Sherman	Reboldi, Andrea	Fino, Mireli	Munshi, Nishkruti
	Cleveland, Sarah/Huang, Judy	Sharif, Rifat	Flotte, Terence	Piorun, Mary
	Curtin, Carol	Thomson, Travis	Garcia, Maria	Plasse, Mechelle
	Dang, Ivy/Yee, Matthew	Timpson, Wendy	Gebhardt, James	Potts, Stacy
	Day, Philip	Trivedi, Chinmay	Giannaris, Lela	Precourt, Justin
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Wessolosky, Mireya	Grunwald, David	Rosal, Milagros
	Garwood, Elizabeth	Whitley, Sarah	Hayes, John	Vitello, Joan
	Hamar, Benjamin		Johnson, Mark	

Dr. Sadasivam called the meeting to order.

### **STANDING REPORTS**

### Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Update: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation highlighting the Women's Faculty Committee Awards Ceremony. She congratulated the seven award recipients, and presented two Award Ceremony slides that stated women are better represented at UMass Chan than the national average for medical schools, and that UMass Chan is outpacing our peer institutions in gender representation by academic rank.

Dr. Ahn announced that the Junior Faculty Development program's 2024 cohort graduation celebration took place on May 16<sup>th</sup> and applications for the 2025 cohort are currently being accepted.

Dr. Ahn announced that the Women's Faculty Committee is having a Virtual Health Event on *Women and Stroke: Differences in Clinical Presentation, Severity & Outcomes* on Friday, June 21st from 12:00-1:15.

Dr. Ahn announced that during the Summer the Office of Faculty Affair's Faculty Development program will be offering two courses, Beyond Kern's 6 Steps: Curricular Design for the Advanced Educator on June 25<sup>th</sup>, and Slide Design Science: 3 Principles that Boost Engagement and Learning on July 25<sup>th</sup>, as well as holding a Summer Intensive for Presentation Skills from July 24<sup>th</sup> -26<sup>th</sup>.

# PRESENTATIONS

# Library and Learning Committee Update: Dr. Piorun

Dr. Piorun gave the annual Library & Learning Resources Committee Report.

### Faculty Council Officer Election – Nominees Needed: Dr. Sadasivam

Dr. Sadasivan stated nominations are being accepted for Faculty Council Secretary.

Meeting adjourned.