

Amy Walker, PhD, Chair Amy.Walker@umassmed.edu

Susan Feeney, DNP, APRN, Vice Chair Susan.Feeney@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 5, 2024

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Walker, Amy (Chair)	Abdennur, Nezar	MacLean, Ashley	Abraham, George	Johnson, Mark
Feeney, Susan (Vice Chair)	Almeida, Sandra	Matheos, Theofilos	Acosta, Alan	Kedian, Tracy,
Lauer, Emily (Secretary)	Amenta, Peter	Mitchell, Amir	Ahn, Mary	Lane, Mary Ellen
	Aronowitz, Jesse	Moormann, Ann	Alexander, Jacob	Lanzillotti, Patricia
	Benanti, Jennifer	Reboldi, Andrea	Berryman, Jennifer	Larkin, Anne
	Binder, Zach	Sadasivam, Rajani	Catanzano, Tara	Lewis, Brian
	Blehar, David	Thomson, Travis	Chakrabarti, Partha	Lindstedt, John
	Bolon, Daniel	Timpson, Wendy	Chisholm, Brendan	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Bucci, Vanni	Wessolossky, Mireya	Collins, Michael	Maki, Kristen
	Chan, Wayne	Whitley, Sarah	Dickson, Eric	Mattocks, Kristin
	Crist, Michelle	Bouzan, Nicole K	Duncan, Marlina	McMaster, Erin
	Day, Philip	Anandakugan, Nillani	Fino, Mireli	Munshi, Nishkurit
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Shank, Elizabeth	Flotte, Terence	Munson, Mary
	Gkrouzman, Elena	Menard, Alexander	Garcia, Maria	Piorun, Mary
	Hamar, Benjamin	Huang, Judy	Gebhardt, James	Plasse, Mechelle
	Kamil, Syed	Osa-Agbontaen, Elizabeth	Giannaris, Eustathia Lela	Potts, Stacy
	Korostelev, Andrei	Hill, Cheyann	Green, Emily	Precourt, Justin
	Li, Shaoguang	Waweru, Jacqueline /	Grunwald, David	Rosal, Milagros
	Lindholm, Mary		Hayes, John	Vitello, Joan
			Healy, James	

Dr. Amy Walker called the meeting to order.

STANDING REPORTS

Chancellor's Updates

Dr. Collins announced that he joined several of his colleagues, Dr. Kevin Tabb, President of Leahy Health, Dr. Susan Moss Bruce, President of Leahy and Dr. Ann Rosenthal, Regional Executive Dean at Leahy Hospital and Medical Center to mark the opening of Walden House, which is the New Learning Community for the 32 learners admitted to the Leahy Track. It was a wonderful community celebration in Burlington where they met the new learners.

Convocation starts this week. Some events include:

- September 6th- White Coat Ceremony at the Hanover Theater
- September 10th- the 12th Annual LGBT Convocation Welcome Celebration, sponsored by the Diversity and Inclusion Office.
- September 9th- the Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing students in the Graduate Entry Pathway (GEP) program will be presented with their nursing pins and welcomed into the nursing community by campus leaders during the Pinning Ceremony.
- September 10th- the second-year Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) students from the Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing who are entering their clinical years will be presented with their white coats during the Transition into Clinical Practice Ceremony.
- September 11th- the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Community Recognition Ceremony to celebrate the students who have successfully completed the exam and are proceeding with thesis research in the laboratory of their faculty advisor, will be held in the Albert Sherman Center Auditorium.
- September 12th- starting at 4 p.m., Chancellor Collins will present the annual Convocation address to the UMass Chan community in a ceremony celebrating faculty. Chancellor's Medals for Distinguished Teaching, Distinguished Scholarship, Distinguished Service and Distinguished Clinical Excellence will be presented.
- Immediately after Convocation, the following faculty members will be honored and invested as named professors, and the donors who endowed the positions will also be honored.
 - John E. Harris, MD, PhD, Chair and Professor in the Department of Dermatology, and Professor of the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences will be appointed the inaugural holder of the Lambi and Sarah Adams Chair in Genetic Research
 - Elinor K. Karlsson, PhD, Associate Professor in the Department of Genomics and Computational Biology, and Associate Professor Program for Molecular Medicine and in the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences will be appointed the inaugural holder of the Dr. Eileen L. Berman and Stanley I. Berman Foundation Chair in Biomedical Research

- Jeannette M. Wolfe, MD, Professor in the Emergency Medicine at UMass Chan-Baystate will be appointed the inaugural holder of the Joy McCann Professorship for Women in Medicine
- Danny G. Winder, PhD, Chair and Professor in the Department of Neurobiology, and Professor of the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences will be appointed the inaugural holder of the Worcester Foundation for Biomedical Research Chair
- Dale L. Greiner, PhD, Professor in the Program in Molecular Medicine and Professor of the RNA Therapeutics Institute and Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences will be appointed the inaugural holder of the Herman G. Berkman Chair in Diabetes Care Innovation
- J. Kevin Donahue, MD, Professor in the Department of Medicine, and Professor of the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences will be appointed the inaugural holder of the David J. and Barbara D. Milliken Professorship in Preventive Cardiology
- Daryl A. Bosco, PhD, Professor in the Department of Neurology, and Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biotechnology and the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences will be appointed the inaugural holder of the Paul J. DiMare Chair in Neurodegenerative Disease

Dr. Collins announced that the next Board of Trustees meeting will be held on September 19th. There are a number of new endowed chairs and awards of tenure that will be approved at the meeting.

Dr. Collins announced a new department chair appointment:

Dr. Richard Gregory - incoming chair of Department of Molecular, Cell & Cancer Biology.

Provost & Dean Updates

Dr. Flotte congratulated both Dean Lane and Dean Vitello on their incoming classes. The Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences will welcome about 82 new students, and the Graduate School of Nursing will welcome around 79 to 80 new students, so there are large incoming classes for all three schools.

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Updates

Dr. Ahn gave a brief presentation for her updates.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from June were approved.

PRESENTATIONS

Faculty Council Non-Voting Membership & Rules Committee Members Election: Dr. Walker

Dr. Walker presented the list of the proposed non-voting members for the academic year. Motion to approve; approved.

Dr. Walker presented the slate of changes to the Officers for Faculty Council. The Officers are:

- Chair- Amy Walker
- Vice Chair- Susan Feeney
- Secretary- Emily Lauer
- Rules Committee Member- Rajani Sadasivam

Motion to approve; approved.

Heall Academy Membership Update: Dr. David Hatem

Dr. Hatem gave a presentation on the Heall Academy membership.

Meeting adjourned.