

Amy Walker, PhD, Chair Amy.Walker@umassmed.edu

Susan Feeney, DNP, APRN, Vice Chair Susan.Feeney@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES January 2, 2025

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Walker, Amy (Chair)	Abdennur, Nezar	MacLean, Ashley	Abraham, George	Johnson, Mark
Feeney, Susan (Vice Chair)	Almeida, Sandra	Matheos, Theofilos	Acosta, Alan	Kedian, Tracy,
Lauer, Emily (Secretary)	Amenta, Peter	Mitchell, Amir	Ahn, Mary	Lane, Mary Ellen
	Aronowitz, Jesse	Moormann, Ann	Alexander, Jacob	Lanzillotti, Patricia
	Benanti, Jennifer	Reboldi, Andrea	Berryman, Jennifer	Larkin, Anne
	Binder, Zach	Sadasivam, Rajani	Catanzano, Tara	Lewis, Brian
	Blehar, David	Thomson, Travis	Chakrabarti, Partha	Lindstedt, John
	Bolon, Daniel	Timpson, Wendy	Chisholm, Brendan	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Bucci, Vanni	Wessolossky, Mireya	Collins, Michael	Maki, Kristen
	Chan, Wayne	Whitley, Sarah	Dickson, Eric	Mattocks, Kristin
	Crist, Michelle	Bouzan, Nicole K	Duncan, Marlina	McMaster, Erin
	Day, Philip	Anandakugan, Nillani	Fino, Mireli	Munshi, Nishkurit
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Shank, Elizabeth	Flotte, Terence	Munson, Mary
	Gkrouzman, Elena	Menard, Alexander	Garcia, Maria	Piorun, Mary
	Hamar, Benjamin	Huang, Judy	Gebhardt, James	Plasse, Mechelle
	Kamil, Syed	Osa-Agbontaen, Elizabeth	Giannaris, Eustathia Lela	Potts, Stacy
	Korostelev, Andrei	Hill, Cheyann	Green, Emily	Precourt, Justin
	Li, Shaoguang	Waweru, Jacqueline /	Grunwald, David	Rosal, Milagros
	Lindholm, Mary		Hayes, John	Vitello, Joan
			Healy, James	

Dr. Amy Walker called the meeting to order.

STANDING REPORTS

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Updates

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation on the Call for Nominations for the Chancellor Medals. There are four medals awarded every year

- Medal for Clinical Excellence
- Medal for Distinguished Scholarship
- Medal for Distinguished Service
- Medal for Distinguish Teaching

These awards are the highest honor a faculty member can receive at UMass Chan Medical School. Forward all initial nominations to <u>facultyaffairs@umassmed.edu</u>. The deadline for initial submissions is January 31, 2025. The selection committees will choose finalists for in-depth review, and nominators will be contacted for further information by the end of February 2025. Final nomination packets will be due March 28, 2025. The selection committees will make recommendations to the chancellor, who will ultimately announce the medal recipients at the 2025 Convocation/Investiture Ceremony.

Dr. Ahn gave a brief presentation on the Office of Faculty Affair UMass Chan-Lahey appointments.

Dr. Ahn announced that on January 14, 2025, there will be a virtual Faculty Orientation from 9:00-11:30 am for UMass Chan faculty members hired in the last twelve months. Orientations are also open to all faculty interested in attending.

Dr. Ahn announced that there will be two virtual trainings for faculty, and chairs/supervisors on the new Interfolio online Faculty Annual Performance Review (APR) System. The training schedules are:

- Monday, January 27, 2025 at 12:00 pm (Faculty Training #1)
- Thursday, January 30, 2025 at 12:00 pm (Faculty Training #2-repeat of #1)
- Monday, February 3, 2025 at 12:00 pm (Chair/Supervisor Training #1)
- Thursday, February 6, 2025 at 12:00 pm (Chair/Supervisor Training #2-repeat of #1)

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from the November meeting were approved.

PRESENTATIONS

Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing Curriculum Committee Update Dr. Mechelle Plasse gave a presentation on the Graduate School of Nursing's Curriculum Committee updates.

T.H. Chan School of Medicine Admission Update

Dr. Tracy Kedian gave a presentation on the T.H. Chan School of Medicine's Admissions updates.

Meeting adjourned.